More Vertus+ Events

Welcome to the week.  Here is an example of the wonderful social and fun events organized by the activities team of Dot & Brogan at Vertus.  I said it before and I’ll say it again, without the efforts of these two lovely hard working ladies, our time here would not be the enriched and rewarding experience it has been so far.  

One of these events was the launch of the well-being library in each of the three Vertus buildings, which coincided with Book Club, so we had quite the spread of delectable treats, all cleverly and thoughtfully curated, including the nod to Harry Potter with Ferrero Rocher candies turned into quidditch golden snitches with the addition of wings and the candied books atop each of the cupcakes. In that little wooden box I found hidden treasures of chocolate shortbread. It was a treat I didn’t know existed. It has become my new favorite treat. Thankfully, I can purchase Belgian dark chocolate dipped chocolate shortbread at Waitrose to feed my habit.

The monthly social gatherings are always fun, this particular event included an intense (by me) game of ping pong at BrewDog, where my neighbor humored my terrible play and was a gracious opponent.

There are cooking classes (tiramisu last month and pasta this month), empowering, and wellness classes, like the meditation experience I partook in one recent early morning at Illusionaries, a very interesting immersive experience venue.  This is the description from the Illusionaries website:

“Welcome to Illusionaries, a captivating experiential art hub nestled in London’s vibrant core, where contemporary digital art breaks new ground. Immerse yourself in a realm where the lines between reality and illusion fade as light, sound, and motion unite to create an awe-inspiring spectacle.”

I can’t believe I don’t have a photo of the pebble floored room where we sat on cushioned “boulders”.  About three quarters of the way through the guided meditation, with a Third Space instructor, I panicked as I wondered how I would get up.  Thankfully, I managed without too much embarrassment.  These were the projected images in that room, so colorful and interesting.

We have coffee mornings with breakfast from local restaurants, like this one catered by Ole & Steen. 

Then there are little special additions to the regular monthly schedule, for example, the Easter weekend table spread of sweet treats provided in each building with Easter bunny paw prints leading from the lifts to the delight of the children (and those of us young at heart). 

That same evening was our monthly social at The Parlour, which was a very happening and lively local restaurant where we gathered to greet and chit chat with our neighbors, new friends and the hostesses of the evening, the dynamic duo of Dot & Brogan.  One of my favorite events took place in December where it was encouraged that we travel from building to building with Dot & Brogan to socialize with our neighbors.  Mike and I were the only ones who tagged along to all three buildings and we had a blast.  Mike even got to ride in the buggy (a/k/a golf cart) to the last building.

Unfortunately, there are events I’d love to participate in, but have to decline because of my work commitments. However, there are plenty that I can attend. Next up I am looking forward to the Friday Social at 640 East, the Coffee Morning catered by Paul (a French bakery and cafe) and, of course, our next Book Club, where we will be discussing The Paris Apartment by Lucy Foley.

Stay tuned because I have many more adventures in London (and further a field) to share. I love and welcome any comments you have. Enjoy a fabulous week!

3 responses to “More Vertus+ Events”

  1. It’s truly unbelievable how many events Dot and Brogan set up for you guys. I’m guessing they don’t get much down time. I hope they are getting paid their worth.
    Thankfully I’m not the person your neighbor was playing ping pong with, because she probably would have left with a black eye…I tend to get vicious with ping pong. 🏓

    Like

    1. It really is amazing what they arrange for us. I’m always happy to see their smiling faces. I get the feeling they really enjoy what they do.

      Too funny! I got pretty intense from the look of some of the photos Mike snapped. Thankfully, I did not give her a black eye.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. that was a fun evening. I met several new people and had great conversations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment