Animals in the City

I am still exploring the London Borough of Tower Hamlets, which includes the Isle of Dogs where you will find Wood Wharf, where we are, technically a part of Canary Wharf.  The local newspapers are a wealth of information about happenings in the area.  I decided to set off for the Mudchute Park and Farm, something I can see from my office/guest room window.  On the way I was delighted to see goslings and cygnets.  They looked so adorable and are just steps away from all the high-rises.

I could see the O2 in Greenwich (Elton John performed there last week).  It is so close, yet so far away when the trains aren’t running and you are stuck there, but that’s a story for another day.

I walked past the locks that are right outside our building and I didn’t even know they were there.

The draw to Mudchute was an article I read entitled “How The Bakineer is set to serve sweet treats at Mudchute Farm” about a guy wearing a Spiderman suit with a bakery truck that sells goodies there Thursday through Sunday.  

It was a nice walk on a sunny and warm day, through the neighborhood, where I saw beautiful roses. I passed the large ASDA grocery store and ended up walking into the woods. 

I saw lots of farm animals.  Which is unexpected in the city. (There were no flying pigs, Dor.)

I did not, however, see the big red bakery truck, which is probably a good thing.  I did see a large Ack-Ack Gun at the park. I plan to go back with Mike and maybe then we’ll see Spiderman selling baked goods out of a red truck.

2 responses to “Animals in the City”

  1. Omg, I want one of those goslings…they are so freaking adorable; so soft and fuzzy looking.
    What the heck, you came upon a rose “tree”…snap, that looks so freaking gorgeous. Crazy how the bush got so big that it’s a “tree” now. Dang, what a treat that must have been to see up close.

    Like

    1. I know, I want a gosling or cygnet. They were sooooo adorable. The roses were beautiful and very fragrant.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment